Beautiful Poppies


Poppies are one of the most amazing flowers excising. Cornfield red poppies grow naturally in conditions of disturbed earth throughout Western Europe and the annual seed will only germinate and bring new flowers next year in soil that has been disturbed. And so the poppy has a long association with Remembrance Day. Because Once the war was over the poppy was one of the only plants to grow on the otherwise barren battlefields. Canadian surgeon John McCrae wrote a poem Flanders Fields which he was inpired after his good friend and fellow solder Alexis Helmer died in the Second Battle of Ypres.

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
Loved and were loved, and now we lie
In Flanders fields.

Take up our quarrel with the foe:
To you from failing hands we throw
The torch; be yours to hold it high.
If ye break faith with us who die
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
In Flanders fields.

John McCrae first noted how the poppies grew over the graves of soldiers. The damage done to the landscape in Flanders during the battle greatly increased the lime content in the soil, leaving the poppy as one of the few plants able to grow in the region.
American professor Moina Michael got inspired by the poem ”Flanders Fields” and resolved in an action in 1918 to wear red poppy year round to honor the soldiers who died at war. Moina Michael was the one who initiated and inspired to sell poppies and raise the money for the war’s orphans. Ever since wearing poppies led up to Remembrance Day and it still remains popular in many nations across the world.


For my Craft object I am determent to do flower balls as it really catches my eye and its something I desire to do. At first I tries looking up flowers and I settled with roses as they are pretty and symbolizes a lot of things depending on the color. But I stopped for a second and thought to my self what flower I like the most and what it means to to me. The answer was simple, my favorite flowers are Poppies and Daffodils. Daffodils because I absolutely love the smell and the yellow color of the flower, it lifts my mood up and makes me feel all summery. I like the fact that the flower is free plant and can grow anywhere the seeds blow. Also once you notice them growing all around you instantly know the weather is warming up and the winter is over.
Red Poppies on the other had has a lot more meaning to it than just smell or the color. Even tho Red color is one of my favorite colors perhaps that is why I am so drawn to them. I like the fact it is a free flower as well and the conditions it grows in. I remember when i was little there was a field with a lot off poppies growing all across is not too far from my grandmothers home. I still have this unforgettable view in my memory. Also I have lost my both grandfathers in the war so red poppy represents a lot to me too.
I come to the conclusion to use red poppies to flower balls i so desire to make.


Looking into hand made poppies:




Out of all hand made poppies that I found the most realistic looking poppy is made out of fondant which is cake icing but it goes hard enough to keep up the shape and stay in the flower ball.
I have never worked with icing aka fondant before as I am not much of a cook but I am willing to have a go as i do desire to chive a realistic poppy look. Any other material don’t seen to have such a effect. To make flower balls I need light enough material too which fondant or gum paste would suit perfect.
I found this video on youtube.com which contains full tutorial on how to make poppies out of fondant.

Looking forward in experimenting with this material.
Looking up flower balls to help me image how poppy ball would look or could be used. I found this picture of floating flower ball with gave me a great idea. On Remembrance Day poppy balls has a possibility becoming popular I believe. To remember the soldiers or your family lost members and let a poppy ball go down the river, lake or sea to truly admire and honor their bravery, not only would decorate our rivers but it would also gives us peace and realization in how many solders died throughout the years.

Leave a Reply

