chair project

At this level 5 field part two, we had quite few good options to pick from. However I decided to give myself a challenge and go with the chair project where as individuals we had to designs and make a chair from scratch. I found this project rather exciting, hands on and practical and as I like working with wood and I am more practical person than anything else I thought this would be perfect for me.
In the first meeting we all found out the brief and that we have to design a chair for someone else rather than our-self based on the questionnaire given by the tutor. Which little bit throw me of balance as I was determent to make a chair for myself and I wasn’t thinking of any other option than that as I start doing research through out the Christmas holidays and i had already set my mind on the design. However we all had to randomly pick piece of paper which would have a persons name on that we have to interview later on with the questions provided.The people were all lectures, TD’s or tutors from different practices which made it interesting, i guess who have got a TD person have been slightly luckier as they would be able to help to solve the difficulties along the way, however all the names had to remain in secret until the end of the project which would end in 5 weeks.

The person i have picked is a male mid 40’s and has a sense of humor. I am glad i accidentally picked someone i know already and get along with, it saved the awkwardness i believe.
However the persons style, hobbies or any likes are completely opposite than mine although we do have a mutual colour we like – orange 🙂 which seemed ‘a bit of a sun on a rainy day’ during the questionnaire.
What I gathered at the end of interview:
Persona
*Skiing
*Walking
*Modern
*Bold shapes
*Industrial
*Likes mountains and snow
*Favorite place Canada
*Iphone fan
*Likes orange
*Dog lover

I wouldn’t exactly say this inspired me a lot and also I hardly can match it to any of my interest, so the hope of making a chair for myself but also that matches the persona on any way is sorta out of the window, as my interests are:
*Sun
*Sea
*Caribbean
*40’s-60’s era
*Vintage glamour
*Rather be on the beach than anywhere else
*Cat love (although I love all animals)
*Android
*Bright colour person
*Walking

The only hope is to research personas interest a bit deeper and see if I can relate to in any way.

Leave a Reply

